4th December – Joy of Ink

I’ve visited Melbourne before, so rather than spend money at attractions I’ve already seen, I’ve spent the last few days mostly walking around the area and getting reacquainted with the river front.  However, today I’m finally doing something I’ve been meaning to do for nearly 2 years.  Get the tattoo on my back recoloured.

Brief background – I have a tattoo on my lower back.  It means a lot to me, but it hasn’t aged well.  It’s been recoloured once by the same artist, and I had some work done on it by Jin in Thailand so spruce it up.  Since I’m now in Melbourne, home of just about every decent tattoo artist in Australia, I figured I’d go see someone local to do the work.  After about a month of researching, I finally settled on Joy from Joy of Ink.

They’re situated quite far out from the CBD where I’m located, but thankfully there’s a train that goes straight to them in less than 30 minutes, so make it for my consultation in plenty of time.  I’d forgotten to bring out the original design for her to look at, but after a few minutes discussing colour and what needed doing Joy was ready to start.

Ironically, I think this recolour took longer than the original tattoo – probably due to her being the first person to fully colour the second wing (which was left skin tone by the original artist since white doesn’t always look great on tattoos).  I also needed to take a break after about an hour cause I felt slightly faint – the first time this has ever happened to me.  Due to the pain and my new inability to handle it, Joy ended up using numbing cream and spray to help me get through the remainder, and after about 3 hours under the needle, finally came out with the new tat.

I’m elated with how great it came out.  Looks so much stronger and vibrant than it did – really happy to have it on my skin.  Not so elated with the new few weeks care, sleeping on my back is not going to be an option, but that’s the price you pay for ink.  Tomorrow I get to watch other people endure the same.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

