21st November – In Transit

In order to get from Adelaide to Tasmania, I had to take two flights.  One from Adelaide to Melbourne, and after several hours fly Melbourne to Tasmania.  It’s a little frustrating as by the time I get to Hobart the day will more or less be gone, but it’s the cheapest way to do it.

So around 8:30 I say farewell to Amar (who has been awesome this week) and hop on the train.  Thankfully my travel attempts work out a lot better this time around, as I end up at the airport with an hour’s buffer time to spare.  On the plane I was pleasantly surprised to find myself sitting next to two girls, both covered in tattoos and one with hair the same shade as mine.  They were heading to a festival in Melbourne as one of them was playing in a band.  We spent the last hour or so of the flight playing Hangman with the theme being dog breeds (I know a bunch of obscure ones so totally rocked it).

When we arrive in Melbourne, I leave the restricted area to go find lunch.  Melbourne Airport has a pretty wide variety of food, and I’m not relying on Virgin to provide my lunch/dinner.  I end up torn between noodles and pizza, before going for noodles and spending the entire evening craving pizza.

We arrived around 1:30 – the flight didn’t leave until 4:30, and once we’d actually boarded, it ended up being delayed by about an hour due to a possible ‘first aid emergency’.  The crew had to go back to get additional supplies – though nobody was sure why.

The delay sadly, meant that I arrived in Hobart even later than planned – so accepted there would be limited exploring tonight.  Walked out the airport and tried to find the shuttle bus (which is awkward because there’s a lot of construction going on outside right now).  Basically, if you see it, just walk straight towards it because the normal spot isn’t accessible.

I now have a YHA card, so I get a pretty nice discount of $4 on my transit bus.  There’s also an additional $3 discount if you buy a return ticket, so make a point to do that if you’re flying back out of Hobart.

The first thing that strikes me when we start driving towards Hobart?  Just how long was I in the plane?  Because this looks like Scotland.

And it really does.  The green grass, marshy lowlands mixed with mountains, the slightly suspect sky…the buildings are completely wrong but the landscape is eerily familiar.  Get the feeling I’ll be at home most of this trip.

Like everywhere else on this trip, I’m staying at the YHA in Hobart, which is a nice enough building, but hosts far too many steps and no lift.  It’s also a little like Alice in Wonderland – I keep opening doors and finding more and more corridors.  God only knows how big it actually is once you find every room…

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

