20th November – Hallet Cove

My original plans for visiting Adelaide when I did were simple, I wanted to enjoy one more Supanova convention before I left.  This unfortunately turned out not to be, when I discovered Adelaide only have a 2 day event, with the Friday consisting of a ‘preview night’ – which you can only get to by buying a full ticket.  Since I was flying out on the Saturday, I wouldn’t make any of the convention.

However, the good thing to come out of this was me having a free Friday, as Amar doesn’t work them.  Instead, he drove me out to an area not many tourists visit.  Hallet Cove boardwalk, a cliff side walk of around 7km and some pretty great views.  It’s got a pretty interesting history, the area used to be a glacier thousands of years ago, and still has rocks that betray that heritage in the form of black cliffs.

image

It takes about 90 minutes to 2 hours to actual complete this hike, and we intended to go back the same way.  To make sure we have the energy, we stop in the (very expensive) cafe at the end of the route.  I have a brownie and cup of tea, while Amar has a salad, and in half an hour we’re heading off again, taking just one detour to check out the very strange hill in the area – known as ‘Sugarloaf Hill.’

Amar then takes me to the South Australia Aquatic and Leisure Centre so we can swim.  It’s unfortunately very busy as the High School Pacific Games are on, but there’s still 2 lanes free for me to lap in.  Been years since I’ve done laps, and it shows.  My record is 3 laps uninterrupted – now I can barely do one.  I managed about 40 minutes of swimming on top of my 14km hike before calling it quits and dragging myself out to wait for Amar.

We finished off the day with one more game of chess.  Previously, Amar had foiled me by having so many pieces protecting his King, so I decided to try and imitate him.  It didn’t work – I couldn’t get pieces out to manoeuvre or attack his pieces, and I essentially got my own King trapped when a gambit I put in place failed miserably.  Still one of the most satisfying games I’ve played in a long time though. 

All in all I’m rather sad I’ll have to say goodbye to Amar tomorrow.  He’s been a great host, and I’ll definitely be happy to couch surf again.  Hopefully with someone whose as good as Amar at Chess too.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

