17th November – Lofty Falls

Frankly after having such a hectic couple of days, the first thing I want to do when I get to Adelaide is nothing.  I had planned on going to Kangaroo Island and Supanova while I was here, but discovered too late that Supanova is an evening only preview event on Friday and starts properly the day I leave, while Kangaroo Island is far too expensive for my budget.  So I’ve technically got a few days spare.  This one I’m using to catch up on the blogging and some TV shows.

However, Amar tells me he can take me to Lofty Falls after work, so at 4 I head out to the train and make it to his station just in time for him to pick me up, and he drives me to the mountain.  It takes about 30 minutes, and the hike itself is just about 4km – the same as the beach, but uphill.

image

He sticks with me for the first waterfall, which thanks to the lack of water really isn’t as impressive as it normally is, and the second (same problem), before heading off at his own pace and promising to meet me at the top, allowing me to make it up there without any stress.

Clearly, I am in terrible shape because it takes me over 90 minutes and multiple rest stops to make it to the summit.  4km is nothing, but this hill has some steep inclines and I’m struggling after a few steps.  When I finally do make it to the top, I find Amar getting ready to come find me cause I’ve taken so long he thought I’d gotten lost!

At least this view was pretty worth it.  Minus the sun in my eyes.

image

Since it’s all downhill, the hike down goes a lot quicker, and the two of us chat on the way down.  Relationships and sexuality inevitably come up, and I get to educate yet another person on Asexuality – Amar’s been one of more confused people about it, and I’m not entirely sure he believed what I was saying, or that I was just confused – found out the next day he’d actually looked it up online though, so hey!  Got someone researching.

And, I got to see white cockatoos in the wild for the first time!

image

Going to head into Adelaide tomorrow and check out some of the more cultural areas plus maybe a few parks – also known as how to spend a day in town without spending too much money (continue to read to see how I fail there ^_^).

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

