16th November – Adelaide

Woke up in time to say farewell to Celine and Beth (who were leaving on an earlier flight) before getting up and heading for the airport myself.  For the first time in a while I was flying with Quantas, who are one of my favourite airlines just because everything they do is just that little bit better.

I was going to be doing things a little bit different in Adelaide.  I have a travel friend who raves about couch surfing – and figured I could give it a shot.  I put out feelers in Darwin and Adelaide, and eventually agreed to stay with a guy called Amar, who lived in one of Adelaide’s suburbs but near public transport.  He asked me to come to the railway station closest to his work, so I navigated the online public transport maps and tried to figure it out – in hindsight I probably should have just taken a shuttle.

Long story short, I got lost.  Bought a ticket for about $5.20 which gives me about 3 hours of unlimited travel, and tried to look out for the landmarks I’d been looking up online.  Failed miserably, and ended up at the end of the bus’s route.  Looked up Adelaide station on my phone, and figured I could walk it, but the bus driver insisted he would take me there – should have gone with my gut because he ended up driving me in the opposite direction and taking me to a completely different station.  Thankfully, it still had a train heading the way I wanted, so made it to my destination about 30 minutes behind schedule.

Amar was waiting for me, and took me back down into Adelaide so we could walk along the beach.  It’s about 4km to walk from the jetty, and by the time we reached Glenelg at the end of the beach, he headed back to get the car (so he could jog back) and I explored the shopping district.  Most of it was closed by this point, but did manage to get some fish and chips for dinner.  It’s mostly eateries and frozen yoghurt shops, with a few boutique shops thrown in, but a nice place to explore before the sun set.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

