5th November – Farewell to the Oasis

image

Well, despite a rather sour start to the week (wages and code checking and dressing downs were involved), my time at the Oasis Roadhouse has come to an end on a rather high note.  I’ve enjoyed most of my time here, but can’t deny I’m chomping at the bit to start travelling again.

I’ve seen the busy winter period come and go, and it’s pretty clear I’m leaving pretty much at the perfect time.  My hours have been cut from 8 to just 4 due to the lack of need, and we’re not getting anyone through the door.  I’ll be heading to Cairns tonight, before flying to Darwin tomorrow, and then Alice Springs next week.

Last night I got a surprise when Karley and Sandy arranged a goodbye dinner for me – consisting of two of my favourite things I’ve been missing for some time, vegetable tempura and beef in black bean sauce.  It’s been SO long since I’ve had veggie tempura, it made me smile when I found the tray.

Ironically, this morning I woke up to the first miserable morning we’ve ever had.  Overcast sky and rain showers – the kind of weather we’ve been begging for.  Is it ominous the perfect weather has arrived just as I leave?  Who knows, but hopefully it’ll help the area and stick around a little longer.

I’m heading out towards Mt. Garnet for my very last Transnorth bus with Karley.  However, in typical tradition out here, Laurel ends up having to go to Ravenshoe today so could have gotten that far – only found out today though so nothing could have been done about it.  Least the bus rolls into town on time, and gets me to Cairns in time for me to go looking for a handful of shops before closing.

First stop is Anaconda.  I bought some travel trousers online to replace my old ones, but they don’t fit despite being the same size as my last pair.  They still have tags so hoped I could exchange them – turns out with Gondwana, no dice.  So now I have a pair of expensive trousers I can’t use clogging up my bag and need to buy another pair – which I do.  Should make hiking around Uluru etc much easier.

Heading back into town, I stop by the shopping centre on the hunt for new shoes.  After 2 years, my beloved Keen’s whisper sandals are truly at the end of their rope.  Want the same brand, but preferably in a less obnoxious colour.  This took a little doing, as most stores only had one colour (guess which one), but eventually found a grey pair in Athletes Foot which were perfect.

Final stop?  Goldmark to replace the very cheap silver chain I’d broken 2 months ago so I could start wearing my rabbit charm again.  Rather expensive evening all things considered.

Come tomorrow, off to Darwin and the last of the states!

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

