30th August – Maroochydore

Thankfully, the storm has passed when the sun rises the next day.  Sadly, my hoodie and shoes are both still soaked, so the hoodie ends up on the communal clothes line, while I squeeze myself into my wet shoes, preparing for my first trip to Maroochydore.  It was a bit accidental – I’d booked a kitesurfing lesson under the impression that the school was in Mooloolaba.  It wasn’t until it was booked  and I got the school’s address that I discovered my mistake; thankfully, its not that hard to get from one to the other.

At least, normally it’s not.  But today was the day of a marathon running through both Mooloolaba and Maroochydore, right along my necessary bus route.  So instead of an easy bus, I had to get on a shuttle and get dropped off in the middle of nowhere, trying to navigate around a town I didn’t know.  At least I’d given myself a few hours.

Maroochydore mostly seems to consist of one giant winding beach with what appears to be a river of water in some areas, perfect for paddle boarding.  There’s also large open areas of water, and a lot of beach.  Away from the sand, the street’s mostly appear to be hotels or fancy restaurants, though did discover a small market in the town in its last hour.  Managed to grab some salted caramel fudge before finding the school.

When I get there, I’m given the bad news.  The wind isn’t in the right direction for the lesson, but if I’m willing to wait, they can see if it changes (which could happen at any moment).  If figure it’s worth waiting, and head into the more town-like part of Maroochydore in search of food.  Eventually end up in a shopping centre that normally holds food markets, and managed to get pad thai (had been craving thai for weeks) and then settled into a park area with shade to read on my phone for an hour.

This sadly turns into most of my afternoon, as several hours and updates of ‘no change’ I finally get told that it’s getting too late to start so the lesson will have to be cancelled.  After no swimming yesterday, I’m in no mood to be told that, so make the miserable trudge to the bus stop so I can make it back to Brisbane.

The icing on the cake?  When I pick up my bag and make it to the train station, I learn the train’s aren’t running today, so will be going to Brisbane by bus.  Wonderful.

Rather than Central Station, it drops us off at Fortitude Valley, which is an area of Brisbane I’m not entirely familiar with, and end up causing chaos with my travel card as I swipe it outside the gate instead of inside (since I’d swiped my card back in Mooloolaba – have to spend that evening on the phone getting my fine for that event refunded).  Finally, I make it to my usual haunt of Central, and for the first time, end up on the second floor…

…I’m there for all of 5 minutes.  The floor is under construction, the showers are a mess and the toilets have no toilet paper.  As for the rooms, its packed, and there’s only 2 lockers – both of which are in use.  I go downstairs and ask if they have any other 8 bed dorms, preferably on the first floor as that’s where I normally am.

Bless the guy on the desk, he manages to put me in a dorm with only 2 other girls in it.  Comfortable bed, a decent amount of privacy, and a decent locker.  Least I can end the day happy.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

