28th July – Oh Goodie, Medical Bills

So…yeah I’ve gotten myself into a bit of a situation. 

Simply put, a couple of nights ago I made the mistake of being out at night in shorts.  Turns out, mozzie’s like the cold in the outback, and I got a handful of bites.  One of which started getting very, very red and swollen. 

When the Australians spot it, its bad enough that they actually think its a spider bite rather than a mosquito.  They’re nervous enough that I decide to take advantage of the fact that the nurses are here today. 

Of course, this is a bit problematic as I don’t have a Medicare card.  I do have travel insurance, but was always told I couldn’t get a Medicare card – turns out I can get a Recipricol Medicare card, though that’s going to be something of a hassle.

So go say hi to the nurses.  Turns out I’ve got a case of Cellulitis – which is basically when an insect bite gets infected, usually through scratching or dirt.  Given that its on my ankle, probably a mix of both.  And if not treated, it can get bad, so I’m on a ten day course of antibiotics to take care of it.

Course, in order to pay for this (and not piss off my travel insurance), I need to get a Medicare card to reduce the price – which means getting to town, again.  Never have I disliked not having a car or a licence so much.  I’m basically having to hope that someone heads into town on a day I can go with them in the near future, or I’m more or less stuck having to pay the full thing and getting my insurance to pay it off.

Thankfully, the antibiotics have worked and its all cleared up now, but I’ve come down with Karley’s cough as a side effect of my immune system’s breach in security…

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

