12th June – Charters Towers

I’m getting really sucky at updating this when I have a steady schedule.

So what’s been happening?  Plenty and yet nothing at all.  Our two new helpers lasted a week before deciding to leave due to illness, but they’ve now been replaced by an older Australian couple, Sandy and Ross, as well as a local hire called Crystal.  All the puppies are gone, and the weather is heading decidedly into cold territory with four blankets on my bed and socks on the feet.  Ironically, come 12pm the weather jumps 10 degrees and it becomes insanely hot again.

image

Also managed to get out of the Lynd for an overnight stay in Charters Towers last week though.  Karley was heading there to get some supplies and I got to tag along.  Only had a night and a morning to walk around and see the area, so didn’t get to do much, but managed to enjoy the main street, and a meal I didn’t have to cook myself.  Plus, there was a McDonalds, so managed to update my phone’s many, many apps without paying a fortune.  The main street has an adorable character – at night it almost looks like a movie set more than a town with the shape and design of some of the buildings.  It’s a rather nice place to wander.

image

Stayed at the Private Royal Hotel which is just up the street from the World Cinema (sadly not showing anything I wanted to see), and is adorably quirky in the sheer amount of ornaments and furniture in the place.  It feels more like staying in someone’s very large house than a hotel.  Woman at the desk was pretty friendly too – if I go back to Charters Towers might stay there again, but don’t think I’m likely too.  Really not all that much there if you don’t have a full day to enjoy it.

The only real thing of note actually happened yesterday.  Had a family come into the roadhouse, and the mother was looking at me strangely…and asked if I’d ever been to Vietnam…

It was only the family who had been on the boat with me at Ha Long Bay!  The woman looked familiar at first, but I see so many people through here I hadn’t even twigged.  And the kids have shot up – I couldn’t believe they could recognise me – what were the odds of running in to them here?  They were on their way to Alice Springs, so perhaps I’ll see them again on the way back.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

