9th May – Lynd Oasis Roadhouse

Last week, I was starting to wonder why the people here needed another allrounder.  It seemed so quiet.

After this week, I COMPLETELY understand.

Coming into the winter months, the roadhouse starts getting a lot of traffic, especially caravans, heading North for the better weather.  As such there’s usually a steady stream for fuel, and moments when you have 6 food orders waiting in line.  And I’ve been told I haven’t even seen it hit busy yet!

I’ve also started to learn how to short order cook.  I can more or less be left on my own with the frier and with burgers/toasties, while getting there with breakfasts.  Steaks are another thing entirely – they’re REALLY hard to get right.  Need to make more of them and figure it out.  Last time someone asked for Medium rare, half of it was medium, the other half was burnt…

At least now its getting busy I can get into the swing of things.  I was given an evening off last night which was nice for recharging (it was far too quiet to justify having me on) and got to write some fiction for the first time while I’ve been here.  If I don’t get more done in the middle of nowhere here, I’m going to be very disappointed with myself when I leave.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

