3rd May – Lynd Junction

So been just under a week up at the roadhouse, and getting into the swing of things.  Finding it a lot more involving than the pub since the work is a lot more regular and more varied, and Pauline and Karley have been pretty welcoming and happy to show me things.  After 2 days in the kitchen I finally migrated to the till, which was a pretty nostalgic moment as I haven’t used a scanner or an EFTOS machine since my very first job almost 10 years ago (and Australian card readers have a few extra features I’ve only used from the customer end.  Thankfully it’s an easy enough thing to remember, and my work at the pub has got me a little bit refreshed on tills.  Haven’t done any short order cooking except for myself yet, but hopefully that’ll happen in the next few weeks.

At the moment I work from 7-12 (often working over if there’s a rush or someone on break) and 6-9.  Admittedly this varies depending on how busy the place is – can be out before 8 some nights if they’re angling to close early.  In the mornings I start by cleaning the toilets and showers – although this morning I was given the unfortunate surprise of finding faeces in the men’s shower.  That wasn’t fun to clean up.  After that, I’m filling up the shelves, washing breakfast dishes and doing outside maintenance.  Afterwards its till work and dishes.  Then in the evenings, more till work and shelf filling.

This at least gives me spare time to try and write, though I admit that this guys generally take up a lot of my spare time.

image

They’ve learned I’m an utter softie when it comes to dogs, and the second I’m in the garden they’re surrounding me and handing me a frisbee.  Only get to throw a few times though before the russell and the spaniel decide to bark and I have to stop.  I’ve also got a soft spot for Paddy, a young cow that wanders around my room in the afternoons – today I found her tied up in some cloth fence around the fruit trees looking utterly miserable – yet she keeps wandering around that area.  Have to set her free a few times.

Think, so long as nothing like my previous gig happens, I’ll be happy here for a few months.  Good people, good work, decent pay, lots of animals, and last night I saw a shooting star.  Life could be a lot worse.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

