27th April – Brisbane School of Hairdressing

Before I head out for my new job tomorrow, there’s something I needed to do in town.  Namely, sort out my hair.

Admittedly, I’ve only had my dreadlocks for 4 months now, but the bloom is most decidedly off the rose.  Despite my best attempts, the hair tails are as long as the dreads (and no attempts by me to backcomb them into the dread has been successful), the soap I’m using to wash them is difficult to use and leaves my scalp feeling itchy regardless, and the sheer upkeep of maintenance has driven me to breaking point.  I want to go back to my nice uncomplicated short cuts thank you. 

However, making this decision while in Brisbane is a bit problematic.  Given that I want a short clip, I don’t want to spend a fortune in some fancy salon – especially with money as tight as it is, but my usual Australian hairdress of choice – Supercuts, isn’t available anywhere in reasonable distance.  So I throw myself onto the mercy of Google, and find a promising option.  Brisbane’s School of Hairdressing and Beauty. 

Instead of getting a fully qualified hairdresser, I’ll get one in training, and given my choice in cut I think that’s a reasonable risk.  Its also pretty much the only place in town that A) offers a haircut for under $30, and B) speaks English.  So come 2:15, walk in and say goodbye to the dreads.

My hairdresser, Molly, did look a little apprehensive when I first sat down (completely understandable), but her face lit up when she realised I wanted to cut the dreads off.  We both ended up taking photos of before and after, and she claimed it was the most fun haircut she’d ever given.  Even ended up with quite an audience as the other students and customers watched her and a teacher go at them, first with a razor, then with scissors.

image

Since I was wanting a short cut, I wasn’t too worried about saving hair, but they were pretty determined to save what they could, and eventually chose to cut them off about a centimetre into the braid and brush it out.  The whole thing took about 30 minutes, and when they finished, my head was a mess.

image

I’d read enough sites to know how badly hair looks after dreading (which is why I wasn’t even attempting to salvage the length), but its another thing entirely to feel it.  My texture was a mix of straw and dog fur – and the lengths were all over the place, short, really long, mid-way, and as brittle and damaged as it was possible to get and still be attached to my head.  Molly had to wash my hair with 3 different shampoos (one for enrichment, one for dandruff, and one for general treatment) and then a conditioner to get it looking remotely like hair again.  Then she went to work with the clippers.

They’d actually saved a lot more hair above than I’d expected, and they seemed to think it would be a shame to loose my long fringe considering it was still in pretty good condition – so got talked into keeping the fringe and ear tails while Molly clipped and cut what remained of my hair into something resembling a planned style.  You can clearly tell at this point that the hairdressers are just students – their movements are slow and hesitant, and they often readjust to get the right position.  However, the teachers are there to help fix anything they might get terribly wrong, and Molly did a great – if slower than normal – job.

image

So after about 2 1/2 hours, I left with about a pound or two of matted hair off my hair, and ready to start my new job tomorrow with a new look…and a list of certain shampoos to look for in order to help heal my now very sensitive scalp and damaged locks.  Got at least a month of healing before I can call my head low maintenance again…

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

