26th April – Job Success

FINALLY.

It’s been a rough week, but I can sigh in relief as my job hunt comes to an end.  Not through the agencies or websites, but through my ad on Gumtree.  Got an email from a women looking for Roadhouse help, and once I checked out the details, took the job.

On Tuesday (super early, boo) I fly up to Townsville, and after spending the day checking out the town, head 3 hours North/North West to Lynd Oasis Roadhouse, home of Australia’s smallest bar.  I will need to pay for accommodation, but its apparently not much, and the pay is more than acceptable.  I’m just so glad I finally found a roadhouse willing to give someone with no experience a chance.

Also surprised that it was through Gumtree.  In general I don’t trust the website (which is odd considering I’ve never actually had a bad experience with it), but I’ve gotten 2 jobs with it so far – and both for Townsville area, Townsvillians clearly like the tree.  Guess so long as you use common sense, and double check the info (first thing I did was Google the place for any warnings and confirm the phone number matched all official websites), its no worse than answering ads on job websites.

With that stress off my back, I was able to move into Brisbane Backpackers without too much trouble.  Decided to walk it, which – while doable, did take quite a bit out of me, and crashed in my dorm organising flights for an hour or so before heading back out.

Brisbane Backpackers is on the opposite site of the river from the city centre, and only 15 minutes walk from some of the river attractions.  I headed that way to check it out, and got to enjoy a part of Brisbane I don’t normally spend time it.  The waterfront has live music on the lawn every Sunday, and there are large tunnels covered in bright purple flowers that you can wander through to shops and restaurants. 

image

It’s also home to one of my favourite places in Brisbane, Epicurious.  This is a small public garden on the river that grows vegetables and herbs.  And, as an added bonus, they’re all free!  People are encouraged to touch, smell, and even take the herbs and vegetables.  This is the best idea I’ve ever heard, especially if you think how much fresh herbs cost compared to how much you use.  Course, can’t imagine the veg lasts long, though its always cool to come see baby capsicum and eggplant growing on the stalks.

While heading in the direction of the gardens, I came across a market area, and went to check it out.  This is The Collective Markets, and held every Friday-Sunday, home to unique jewellery, clothes, decorations and knick knacks.  Became fairly besotted with some beautiful wood carved iPhone cases (that had everything from the Hokosai Wave to Steampunk clogs carved into the backs) but had to resist price wise.  Did end up picking an adorable cat ring for $10 though, as well as a Mother’s Day gift to send West.

image

When I returned to the hostel, my roommates had all reappeared, and were currently slumped between 2 beds, watching – of all things – Frozen on a tablet.  They had some great conversations regarding the awesomeness of ‘Let it Go’, if Elsa can be considered hot considering she’s both animated and an ICE Queen, and whether or not the sequel should be called ‘Defrosted’ or ‘Room Temp’.  We all migrated downstairs for dinner though, as the hostel runs a free ‘Sausage Sizzle’ on a Sunday, which means I don’t have to cook or spend money!  Really fond of BB already.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

