10th April – Morven

image

Well, slowly getting used to Morven (or rather, Morven is getting used to me).  There really is very little here if you don’t have a car, but financially and emotionally, that works very well for me.  The lack of Internet is also making some of my fiction writing go a lot easier too.

I’ve been taken into Charleville twice, both times heading there to help Fran with the shopping.  Charleville is about an hour’s drive from Morven, and a lot bigger (which still remaining teeny tiny).  Second time we were heading back, had the lucky break of spotting a dingo by the side of the road.  Had two white paws and a black muzzle, and was trying to eat a kangaroo carcass.  Fran was rather upset that she didn’t have her gun with her – never seen one at the side of the road before and they’re worth $2-300.

Also spotted some emu’s along Old Charleville road, which is an old dusty path closer to the river in Morven and one of my favourite places to walk.  My first reaction was cassowary’s, before I realised we were in the round part of the country, they were the wrong colour, and emu’s were also an Australian bird.

image

The river, which runs at the back of town separating the caravan park and national park from the rest of Morven, is home to 2 dozen ducks/geese that run wild around town, and a huge collection of hawks (I want to say red tail but could be kites or something else).  Ended up following the river down a path one day and found about 20 just circling a pool of water.  Sadly the water’s got a big sign up warning people that it’s not suitable for humans and to swim in at your own peril, so haven’t taken a dip personally.

image

As for the work, it remains pretty quiet with only the odd busy night.  Morven itself is clearly suffering from the lack of traffic.  The pub I work at is ‘technically’ for sale (in that if they were given a reasonable offer they’d take it), as it the local shop, the post office and just about every second building.  Pretty much everyone seems to be trying to get out of town.  We did have one busy night where a group of some sort (a marketing brand called ‘Cattle King’ bought out the restaurant area, but even then they didn’t actually drink all that much – think I’ve only worked till legal closing 3 times since I’ve been here.  Hoping the expected traffic starts to show up or Rod’s gonna end up paying me to read and write behind the bar.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

