28th January – The Weary Volunteer

Sometimes being a good person is the worst thing you can be – especially when it comes to getting work.  I am a terrible liar, and I refuse to tell someone I can work 3 months when I know flat out I only have 6 weeks left before I go home short term.
So with that in mind, its probably a very good thing that I actually have family to mooch off while I’m not working, though it does mean I’m spending several weeks doing nothing but selling off excess stuff and swimming (god bless pools in stupid heat).

However, I do know that when I come back, I need to hit the outback and get some work in pubs or roadhouses, and that might be hard with no experience.  So getting some experience is kind of vital.

Thankfully, the Fringe Festival in Perth has arrived, and with it comes a unique opportunity.  The Rooftop Movie Cinema in Northbridge opens up for several months in summer.  It includes a pop up bar, which is nearly entirely manned by volunteers.  In exchange for 2 hours of work, you get trained in how to pour drinks, handle money and handle glasses, and then get to watch the movie too.

image

Sounded like a good idea, so for the past few weeks I’ve been volunteering and getting that oh so vital experience.  Its been a mixed bag of moments – I really enjoy the work, a lot more than I thought I would.  The people are great, and pouring drinks isn’t as hard as I expected – though the pale ale has never failed to freak out every single person by erratically blowing up on us at least once a shift.

image

The movie theatre is above a carpark not too far from the plaza and the bus station.  There’s astroturf on the ground and deck chairs for seats, with the bars in some gutted caravans at the far side.  When the weather is good, its a fantastic place to be – the view from the roof is incredible – and its high enough to be away from the sounds of the city that you can enjoy the movie quite comfortably.

Unfortunately, there’s one very big issue with doing this gig.  And that’s the trains.  Originally I would just get a train in and out of the city, then get picked up at the station.  However, the trains aren’t running at night at the moment, which means I have to get a replacement bus…which pretty much doubles my travel time.  That’s bad enough when you’re leaving at 8, but since the movies run for a few hours, I’m not getting home until close to midnight – and with your very kindly family are working early in the morning being woken up at that time is not something they appreciate.

So in exchange, I’ve cut down how many shifts I’m doing and only staying for the really good movies.  Two are currently up for grabs – Blackfish on Sunday and The Neverending Story on Tuesday.  If the trains start running again I might do more, but not until I know I can get home.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

