2nd January – Bondi Beach

When I was first looking at coming to Sydney for New Years, everyone mentioned Bondi Beach.  There was no way I could afford this though, and ended up at Coogee, is smaller and yet more charming cousin.  That said, the 2 beaches are on the same piece of coast, attached by a winding cliff road littered with other small beaches along the way.  This morning, several of the girls (bound together by mutual moaning about the hostel, myself included) decided to do the 2 hour hike.

image

One of us had done it the day before, so we were mostly relying on her to remember exactly where to go and where the shortcuts were.  Although most of it consisted of us meandering along at our own pace and stopping to ooh at each beach.  Unfortunately, the muggy grey sky and grey water meant it wasn’t nearly as attractive as it might otherwise have been.

Regardless of the weather, it’s still a great walk, including cliff views, beaches, and oddly enough, a cemetary facing out into the ocean.  When you finally get to the last hill before Bondi, there’s a spectacular chunk of cliff that’s still solid enough for you to step out into the abyss, before heading back towards summer civilisation.

image

Bondi Beach is probably the most well known of Sydney’s beaches.  We even had a 7 News van here while we visited.  Everyone had on their swimsuits to enjoy it…but unfortunately, the weather had just gotten worse.

The closer you got to the ocean the colder and wetter it felt.  By the time I dipped in a toe I felt like I was on a beach at home.  There was no way I was swimming in that water if I didn’t have too.  We retreated back to the beach and huddled on towels, before engrossing ourselves in e-books and diary writing (my 3 fellow travellers making me look positively diligent with how far behind they were).

image

Despite the weather, we were able to have a relatively great afternoon.  I managed to give advice on places to go to those who hadn’t headed North, and got some info in return.  Even thought we’d try and have a barbeque tonight since the majority were moving on the next day (the weather eventually ruined this plan).

We eventually split up with half heading to a bar, and myself and another girl heading back into town.  Wanted to take a bus rather than trudge along that cliff again, though it took 2 transfers and about 50 minutes, so spent most of the time thinking we’d have made it faster if we had!

My travel buddy left me to pack up since she was heading to a new hostel that night, but when the others returned, it was in hand with another traveller, who worked in the restaurant/bar attached to the building.  Since the barbeque wasn’t happening, she suggested we try the Coogee Legion Club, as it actually has a pretty good ‘cheap’ menu available.  Its mostly a gaming bar, but the little deal menu offered up a steak for $15, and had a great view from the balcony so completely worth it.

image

Afterwards, we headed to the Pavillion bar, which was jam packed as per usual.  We all ended up squashed on a tiny couch looking out for tables going free.  I lasted an hour (after finally bagging us a table) before excusing myself since I needed to be up early and functional in order to get to the blue mountains tomorrow.  Hopefully I’ll be able to meet up with everyone again either in town or at other hostels.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

