1st January – The Perils of Habit

There is one hell of a downside to being used to a early rising job – even when you get to bed late your body starts waking up early.  As such my eyes were opening (and groaning) at 7am.  Managed to coach my body back to sleep for a few more hours, but around 9 I gave it up as a bad idea and dragged myself to the shower.

New Years day, and I’m on the beach.  I’ve only got a few days where I can truly appreciate that, so I’m heading down to the water for a few hours while I’ve got a chance – making a point to slather on suncream since the last time I was on a beach, missed 30% of my body and paid for it for the next fortnight.

Coogee beach had both its gold beach and powerful waves, and the small outcropping known as ‘The Baths’ – which was where I was heading since it felt safer than leaving items alone on the beach.  Here there are metal railings one can tie bags too, and its a lot easier to keep on eye on your belongings.

The majority of the baths isn’t very deep – just over a metre or so for the majority, with a few very shallow and slightly deeper sections depending on the current.  The rocks that frame the area are pretty popular for exploring, and for daring the waves (which crash over with extreme regularity) to try and knock you off.

Its a great place to just relax, and after a while just crawled out and lay on the rocks to dry off – unfortunately forgetting that I’d applied suncream under the assumption that I’d be keeping my shorts on, then removing them.  So a few hours later my upper thighs which had been in the sun without protection were turning bright red and causing me no end of discomfort.

When I crawled back to town, I then made a beeline for a restaurant I’d seen a few days ago.  Sushigo was a Japanese restaurant just 5 minutes away, and figured for New Years I’d splash out and have a real treat.  Fantastic decision, as not only was the sushi and hot dishes really good, they had this:
image
That’s a beef Suikiyaki – a miniature hot pot filled with beef, veg and miso soup.  Unbelievably good – especially for the price of $16.70.  The stove and plate got quite a few envious looks from other patrons – I love interactive food like this. 

However, once I’d eaten (read: stuffed myself), my legs were really starting to hurt so sort of mooched around the hostel for several hours before heading out for a wander.  In the evening, I ended up joining several of my roommates for a drink out at the local bar adjoined to the hostel.  They were all on holiday, and we managed to talk about the differences in work and university educations in different countries (between us we covered America, France, Italy and UK), as well as travel destinations and the frustration of the hostel’s many, many flaws.  Still not sure what I’m doing after my time is up here, but if I end up staying in Sydney, I’m moving to a different hostel.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

