26th December – Little Miss Liar

Well, after a great Christmas day, we get blindsided.  Thanks to a lying, manipulative brat, we’re looking at a really hard and difficult weekend.

One of our volunteers, Anna Gaelle (who has been here all of 3 days), came to my host in the morning saying she had a friend in hospital and had to go see here.  We reorganised the schedule, saying that if she could get Stephens to do her shift in the afternoon, she could leave after the morning shift and come back Saturday evening (quite a big ask, as Stephens is due to be off this afternoon and come back to work Sunday afternoon).  She goes away, and says Stephens agreed, and I get my day off shunted to Sunday to accommodate her being gone.

She’s taken to the train station, and alarm bells start ringing when my host’s husband notes she’s taken all of her luggage…

Check with Stephens…who has not been asked to do anything this afternoon, and was told by Anna that she’d spoken to Dale…because she was leaving to go to a new host family but might come back if it didn’t work out!

This little brat lied to our faces, let us work around her, and if she didn’t come back would have screwed us over royally since we wouldn’t have looked for a new volunteer!  We are now going to be 2 people short next week since I leave and my replacement doesn’t come until Wednesday, and both myself and Stephens are due time off but are gonna struggle to take it because there’s no one to work Sunday!

Clearly, she just wanted somewhere to stay for Christmas – and honestly doesn’t care who she screws over in the process.  My host toyed with not saying anything and if she did come back to slam the door in her face (see what its like to be blindsided), but eventually decided to send a text (because little missy aint answering her phone) confronting her on the stories and telling her not to bother coming back.  What a wonderful way to spend the after Christmas -_-

Thankfully, I get to discover ranting on Facebook actually can help.  David spotted my frustrated post and called in to help on Sunday, taking off some of the pressure and saving our time off – good man.

Course, this doesn’t help us on Saturday, considering we have a show and Stevens is off.  As a result, we’re working on a very short staff and battling both time and weather – its been getting wet and stormy lately, which is good news for the now very, very low dam, but bad news for us hosing any section.  We end up not being able to hose before the guests come.

This is my very last show, and happens to be a mini one due to the smaller number of staff.  I’m also having to put new volunteer Robyn through show boot camp since she’ll be Dail’s assistant/music controller when I leave.  Thankfully, this show only involves the Eccies and the Alexandrians, so at least we don’t have to worry about getting the other birds down to the stage.

It goes relatively well – Whoppa starts talking and refuses to stop all show, and there were a few Alexandrian’s who clearly didn’t want to do their tricks, but their attitude was a lot better than it was last week (where every eclectus was on edge and every other bird following their lead)

Got to say the shows are not something I’ll miss.  I do enjoy them, but the past few shows have made me realise how hard it is to time music while also helping with props – I wish Robyn luck with the coordination.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

