30th November – Mt. Ngungun

After the exceedingly expensive Friday, I was looking for some low priced activity for my second day off.  And since the weather had been slightly cooler lately, I decided to go out on the bike and try to climb Mt. Ngungun, supposedly the easiest mountain to climb in the Glass House Mountains, as well as the best view.

Of course, this being me, I discovered this isn’t going to be as easy as I’d like because somewhere between diving in Mooloolaba and exploring Supanova, I’ve developed shin splints.  FYI, climbing a mountain with 2 very painful shins is not an experience I’d recommend. 

image

Mt. Ngungun is the 6th tallest mountain in the range, and is rated as a class 4 trail.  Given that it pretty much starts as borderline vertical walk up (and starts as it means to continue), I was very grateful I’d chosen to dig out the hiking boots rather than the walking shoes – this mountain needs closed shoes.  It takes just over an hour to reach the summit, and is very much worth it.

image

It offers uninterrupted views of the Glass House Mountains, and for the more adrenaline rushed climber, there’s a company that provides abseiling down the 20 metre drop at the summit, and then again down the 60 metre midway down the mountain.  A little too intense for me considering its a very sheer drop, so I just appreciated the view from up high.

The only downside to the summit was the sheer amount of insects hovering around!  There were thousands of tiny flies painting the air brown in thick swarms – not something I expected and very annoying when you’re trying to see but have nothing but brown static in your eyes.

It takes just a little less time to climb down, and I thankfully was back at Parrots before noon, getting back into the shade before the heat made any exercise impossible.  As I was heading down, I also heard that the Mt. Tibrogargan climbing path had been opened again, so might go check that out if I have time.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

