21st November – Mooloolaba

Well, things haven’t been all that cheery over at Parrots in Paradise lately.  Not only have we had a shortage of volunteers, but the ones we currently have are driving my host up the wall.  And they were obtained through the Gumtree advert that I suggested Dail try so feel a little responsible.  This week we discovered they hadn’t been cleaning the water bowls so some had developed mould (also known as death to parrots), and are still terrified of the birds, to the point where they’re trying to get babies to come out on sticks.  Babies are already scared, our job is to get them used to human contact so they WON’T need sticks when their beaks get really sharp – shoving branches in their faces is just going to make the situation worse.

In addition, they have not grasped the context of working for room and board.  Dail or one of the helpers makes dinner, and everyone eats it at the table at the same time.  They continually go out and ‘get lost’ running or biking and when they come back, take their meals and scurry down to the bunk house.  One of them has been caught drinking beer on the job, and they’ve ripped through the weekly provisions while asking for ingredients to make another hot meal during the day (which my hosts cannot afford and provides more than enough to make a cold meal or noodles or fried rice if you need something hot).  She’s already celebrating them leaving on Monday, even though it means we’ll be 2 volunteers short.

However, with this chaos, and with me having to train the new girl (who is, if anything, even MORE scared of the birds), I really need a break before the short handed shifts begin.  Thankfully, I have 2 days off in a row, and I’m heading straight for Moolalooba after my shift.

Why Moolalooba?  Well for starters, its home to the HMAS Brisbane, one of the best diving sights in Australia – and I’ve been longing to do a wreck dive ever since I was qualified.  Its also got a pretty well reviewed backpackers and an even better beach.  Figure one very heavy duty excursion and some relaxation for the next day and a half will help me get through next week.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, China and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

