28th October – Mount Tibrogargan

Also known as ‘the mountain whose name I cannot pronounce no matter how many times people repeat it to me.’
This morning, knowing we’d have a repeat of the heat from this morning, slathered myself in sun cream and headed out early.  There are several circuits once can do around the various mountains in the area, but as I was leaving, Mark recommended I go left and do the circuits around Mt. Tibrogargan, which I could reach by going right.  With no reason not to, I took his advice, and about an hour later, reached the car park and started on the smaller 3km circuit around Tibrogargan.

image

This circuit also has a summit climb option, but it was currently closed due to rock slides – thankfully, rock climbing is not one of my passions so this meant nothing to me but some annoyance at the bright orange table dressing the landscape.  Not considered a particularly difficult hike, the Tibrogargan Circuit stays near the base of the mountain, walking through the forest and offering a few views of the surrounding mountains.  It takes about 90 minutes if you’re not going too fast, and I had no qualms about heading onto the additional circuit which is considered harder, and over twice as long.

image

The Trachyte Circuit is 6km, and links up Mt. Tibrogrargan with Mt. Tibberoowuccum.  This one takes you up much higher, and definitely requires a little more balance and endurance to make it through.  Its also far more enjoyable though – and offers you more as you walk through the different areas (including an area of renewable forest for logging, and then into conservation land, as well as many areas with trees blackened by the many forest fires that plague the area.  Also gives you some fantastic views of the other mountains.

image

However, by the time I was heading to the end of the track, the sun was high in the air and slowly sapping me of my strength.  Not even 11am and the sun is already unbearable.  Still, between the walks to and from here, plus the circuits I’ve walked about 12km – not too shabby all things considered. 

I’d like to do the rest of the circuits when I get the chance, but probably not today as the sun doesn’t look like its getting any less hot – and I’m now discovering the drawback to carrying a rucksack while wearing a vest top – the suncream I kept reapplying has rubbed off and my shoulders are very red – that’s gonna hurt tomorrow.  Least the rest of me is okay.

I have two days off in a row next week as well, so I’m thinking I might book a hostel in Brisbane and go there for 2 days.  I’d like to wander round and see what the city has to offer – and there’s a great theme park that’s a lot easier to get to from Brisbane than Glasshouse.  Definitely worth considering.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

