8th October – Dark of the Moon

Things haven’t been too well at my hosts with the most elderly of the dogs falling ill, resulting in an emergency trip to the vet and some very nervous people waiting to see if she’d pull through (she has, but is still very much in recovery).  So we were very grateful for the natural phenomenon that took our minds off poor Laila for an evening.

A lunar eclipse, also known as a Blood Moon, happening for the second time this year – and visible from Australia, parts of Asia and America.  Unlike a solar eclipse where the day turns to night, the lunar eclipse doesn’t turn night to day, but instead wraps the moon in a blood red tone for approximately one hour.  An effect caused by the moon being completely in the earth’s shadow – and particularly special this time around as its part of four lunar eclipses happening 6 months apart (with the last one occuring in April next year).  I admit, I probably caught part of the previous one in April by accident if memory serves, but didn’t know what it was – this time at least I was prepared.  At 19:30, we headed outside to watch the moon put on a red dress.

image

(Apologies for the photos, my new camera is a fantastic piece of kit, but it does NOT do night shots)

Annita gave her telescope a shot – however it’s designed for daylight and was next to worthless, so stuck to lying back in the chairs and watching it.  She eventually got bored and took to coming out every 10-15 minutes to see the progress.  I have a thing for the night sky, so was happy to stick outside, before finally, at 20:30, we had a blood moon.

image

From the ground, it seemed less blood red and more rusty brown, but being this far away from the cities meant none of the effect was lost to the lights.

Hopefully if I remember, I’ll be able to make it to an observatory for the next one in April so I can see it in full telescopic glory.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

