18th September – Yungaburra

Since the big group arrive tomorrow, its all stations go for the crew.  While Darius takes the current visitors out on the mountain bikes, Den Den takes his stuff and temporarily moves into Tracy’s father’s house – as we have so many people, even the staff caravan’s are being taken up.  New guy Laurent will be joining him tomorrow too.

Speaking of, I had to show Laurent the ropes before leaving, made rather difficult by Tracy wanting certain things done in order to get the place ready.  So we had to improvise and set different tasks for different times.  So he was mostly left to his own devices and given jobs as he finished, while I helped Tracy set up a couple of bunk beds in another former double room, and then had to dress several dozen new beds as well as clean and prepare the caravan for guests, while Tracy headed into Atherton to get the food necessary to feed such a group.

We ended up both working till around 2 in order to get the hostel ready for the VIP’s, though Tracy promised some cash in hand for the additional hours.  Once we were released, I was very tempted to just lie on a couch and surf the internet until it was time to go…but this was my last day in Yungaburra and it was boiling hot.  Didn’t know when I’d get to swim again…so decided to grab my swimming costume and take one more dip in Frawley’s Pool.

Really going to miss having a natural watering hole to swim in – only come here a few times but gotten really fond of it.  Laurents had been recommended this spot too and was sunning on the grass, and while I was swimming another couple showed up, and one of them joined me – though complained about the cold water.  Frankly, the whole point is how cold it is for me – otherwise drying off wouldn’t be so enjoyable.

Try to keep an eye on the time since I really wasn’t sure when to be back.  Due to an overbooked bus, Darius would be taking several of us back down to Cairns in the hostel’s bus, so would probably be leaving earlier so he could get back in time for dinner before the night canoe.  I ended up getting back for 3:30, and decided to risk one more wash to clean my cossie and clothes from yesterday.
image
Big mistake, as Darius and the canoers rolled up not 15 minutes later and warned that we would be leaving in 20 minutes.  Thankfully I got the stuff out of the wash and into a plastic bag for washing when I got back to Cairns, and had a teary farewell with Tracy (who made the goodbye ever more cry-worthy when she handed me some cash for the additional work I’d done.  Sadly, Megan and Den Den weren’t around, so had to leave my goodbyes as messages, and when we finally rolled into Cairns and arrived at Dreamtime Travellers rest, I had to say goodbye to my favourite drunken lech and his dog.  Really gonna miss D and Chief.

As I was checking in, ran into a woman I’d been speaking with at Yungaburra who had come back to Dreamtime the day before, and we ended up at the Green Ant Cantina for something to eat while we caught up.  I wasn’t all that hungry, but did want to speak with her, so picked something that sounded good…but was far too heavy for a light meal – ended up just picking at it and stealing some of her nachos at her request.  Finally, I hit the cinema to see ‘Into The Storm’ since I loved a good disaster movie and probably wouldn’t make it again any time soon, and crashed for a stupid early morning the next day.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

