13th September – Day I Crashed a Wedding (After Party)

Yeah, know I haven’t updated in a while.  Multiple reasons for this, but the most prevalent being that I didn’t want to type.  Trying to get back on the horse now though.

Frankly, today consisted of me struggling through a huge check out, cleaning up a little after time, and then collapsing in a hammock for the next 6 hours until the On the Wallaby bus showed up and I had to work again.  While washing the dishes, one of the girls stuck around and helped me out.  Her name was Natalie, and as it turns out, she works in publishing…

A few hours later, she’s promised me names and info on any Australian publishers she knows for me to have a look at once I have my second visa.  Steps towards getting into my dream career GOOO!

She however, was here as Darius’s guest.  He’d convinced her to stay another night and promised to drive her down to Kuranda the next day, so when the large night canoe group set off, she went with them, and since my work was done, decided to join the other long termer Dennis ‘Den Den’ and a few guests at the pub.

It was surprisingly quiet tonight, and figured out why pretty quickly – there was a wedding reception happening in the main room, so we all scarpered out into the patio to natter and stay out of their way.  A plan that didn’t quite work out when a man in a bright purple tux popped out for a smoke, only to be followed by the bride and some of her entorage.  The purple gentleman was the groom!

Dress was actually quite pretty and quirky.  Lots of layers, bright purple belt to match the groom, and lots of tiny cogs decorated on the ruffles.  Guessing there was a theme to do with clocks or machines, but it did make the dress unique.

Course, the thing all of us remembered was a member of her group.  An older woman nicknamed ‘Tigger’, because she ‘was always bouncing around.’  This woman was both drunk and a little bit crazy.  Reminded me of an old roommate if she’d aged a few decades.  Had some pretty extreme views of the terrorists, travelling and just life in general.  Also unfortunately, a little grabby, so I eventually made my excuses to leave, though not fast enough to avoid a very drunken glomp from Tigger that almost had to be pried of with a crowbar.

(Found out from Den Den the next day that all three of them had to do the same once she got REALLY drunk and they had to flee.  Considering what Den Den can drink, thats saying something!).

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

