12th September – Wakeboarding

Clearly I’m a glutton for punishment.  While stripping the beds at the hostel, I got a text from Damo.  When I went wakeboarding a few days ago, he promised that if he ever had a very small group coming up to the lakes while I was here, he’d text me, and for a heavy discount I could come out for half a day with the group when I was free.  Turns out, today was a small 3 person group, so if I could get through my work in time, I could go wakeboarding again.

Thankfully, despite having a pretty full plate, got it done for 12 noon flat without having to cut any corners.  Will have trouble if we ever have a full house to clean up after, but survived this time and managed to scarf down a ludicrously fast lunch from whatever I could scavenge from the staff fridge (consisting of a bowl of salad and a muffin) before walking down to Lake Tinaroo to meet up with the boat coming in for their lunch.  An hour later, I’m on the boat and getting into the water to show the new guys how to surf.

image

This…turns out to be a bit of a problem in that any knack I had for surfing seems to have been beginners luck.  I never managed to steer the stupid thing into the wake, but I could always get up without to much problem.  Now?  First three times the boat pulls me off the board or its pretty much completely underwater before we even get started.  I do eventually get the board floating and speeding along, but I still can’t get the board to angle up right into the boat’s wake.  Its frustrating, annoying, and leaves me worried that wakeboarding is going to be just as bad.

As it happens, when we eventually swap back to wakeboarding, I can still get up without any problems, but I’m struggling to get full motion in my board.  When I try to do the foot swap, I end up getting yanked into the water so hard the board is actually ripped from my feet – really not meant to happen.

However, once they’re tightened and back on my feet, Damo suggests that I start with my left foot dominant.  He’s noticed that with my surfing and my previous wakeboarding that I have a lot less trouble when I’m using my left foot despite being right handed.  I take his advice…and instantly speed to the side with skill and movement the right side just hadn’t pulled off.  Even swapping my feet isn’t a problem – and managed to swing through the wakes several times before one wrong move would yank me into the surf again.  A few more turns at this and I think I’ll be ready to try jumping.

image

Sadly, that was about it for me in the boat, since with everyone else also taking turns it was getting close to 5, and I needed to get back to the hostel to do the tour wash up.  Damo was good about it, heading back towards the entrance while doing the other wakeboards and got me back to shore in time to get back to the hostel for 5:30, plenty of time before the first bus showed up.  Probably won’t get another chance to wakeboard until Wednesday, if the group stays small.  Fingers crossed it does though, since I’ve finally organised work and leave Yungaburra next Thursday.

Yup, on Thursday I head back to Cairns, and on Friday go to a Mango Orchard just south of Townsville.  Its an unpaid position to start with, but when the mango season starts in November, paid work will become available.

Glad I’m finally going to make headway on my regional work, but I’m gonna miss Yungaburra.  It’s strange – nothing about this little place should appeal to me, but there’s just something about it that makes me very much at home.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

