10th September – Yungaburra

Yup, I was right.  Wake up and entire upper torso is no longer functioning.  My legs aren’t so bad – they’re use to hard labour, but wakeboarding has stressed muscles I didn’t even know I HAD in my arms.  There is no flexible movement left…and this is my first full day cleaning.

On the plus side, the hostel was very quiet, so minimal beds to change.  On the downside, quiet night meant doing the jobs that normally got held up such as dusting and reorganising the book shelf, which involved stretching arms and lifting and generally making my upper limbs very unhappy.

Regardless, I got through the morning with Tracey’s approval, and when I finally emerge from the hostel, I decide just to walk around and see where I end up.  This eventually results in me wandering around Petersen Creek again, as its a pretty nice route to walk when you have nothing else to do.

And while I was walking around?  Spotted a platypus no more than 2 metres away from me in the river in the middle of the day!  Closest I’ve ever been, and kind of floored at the time.

My new status at the hostel means I can go on the tours for free, but only if enough people are going to begin with.  I’m not really bothered about this with the exception of the Night Canoe, as I still haven’t done it.  This night was again, another failure as the few guests at the hostel have decided to do a morning canoe instead.  If I get up in time, I’ll still hop along anyway.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

