1 September: Palm Cove

Last day in Cairns before I head to Yunguburra.  Although the one thing I wanted to do was practice the poi a little more, by fingers were still very much recovering, so I figured I should probably do something else as well.  The girl on the desk suggested I go to Palm Cove, as it was a pretty beautiful beach, and I might be able to do Kite Surfing or something similar.  Sounded like a good idea, so after a 30 minute poi practice (cue bleeding blisters) I headed down towards the Esplanade.

This proved to be harder than expected as just where you can catch the buses in question seems to vary.  Signs suggest one place, while the internet suggests another.  After relying on the signs, I returned to the Internet and backtracked back to the Pier to catch the 110 bus.

image

I’d seen most of the trip on the Cape Trib tour, so the beach was instantly familiar when we arrived.  However, the ocean was very choppy, and there was no sign of any water activities – only a handful of people were even braving the water.  I did find a sea-kayaking tour company, but I’d missed their last tour by about 10 minutes.  Instead, after walking along the beach, I dug out the poi again and practiced next to the harbour, much to the amusement of anyone watching.

Afterwards, walked along the village to get a better look – sadly Palm Cove is really very small and consists of very little outside of hostels and cafes.  Did manage to get fish and chips from a local cafe for lunch, although this meant missing the next bus.  So what did I do to pass the time at the bus stop?  Strap on some plasters and poi!

And after half an hour of additional practice?  I finally started doing it correctly!  8/10 I’m still hitting myself, but that remaining 2 times I’m getting the spins into double digits!

This pretty much was the highlight of my day, and I celebrated by having the pizza buffet again for my last day in Cairns rather than cook.  Tomorrow I head off to a far less busy and visited part of Queensland.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Australia, Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

