13th January

Rather frustratingly, despite the fact that I wont be leaving until the afternoon, I have to get out of bed early as the check out time for the dorms is a lot earlier than the usual 12 and as such no lie in for me.  The morning itself is spent at the bar and the beach typing and surfing the net – not in the mood to get my swimsuit wet again and don’t want sand on my towel when I’d have to pack it again.

Do eventually do something with my day though once the afternoon rolls around – namely heading to the Dive school and collecting my new dive license (showing my early morning pre-exam face – seems to be tradition to take the photos when the photographees are at their worst, in the mornings or after a dive).  Also head to an Internet cafe to post up some of the posts (which I can do via my tablet, but reducing the size of the photographs is so much easier on an actual computer).

Eventually though, 2pm rolls around and I hop on the taxi bus heading for the pier.  It’s leaving a good hour before I go, but I’ve been warned I need that time.  Had hoped to run into D and the others again beforehand, but they’ve vanished despite saying they’d be on the beach, so leave without saying goodbye.  When we get to the harbour though, the reason for leaving early becomes crystal clear – the place is mobbed.

You have to exchange your voucher for a ticket, and there are a few different ferries leaving.  So I throw myself into the masses trying to find the right line, and then joining those in it with the hissing and yelling and warning people that the end is back here and nobody is slipping in!.
image

For getting to Koh Samui, I decided to go for the Catamaran as its faster and the same price as the slower ferry.  It certainly looks far more impresive, and has a lot more seats, so I settle down for the trip…and notice its a lot bumpier due to the speeds and size of the ship.

I have never experienced motion sickness like it.  Not even on the Channel Crossing which nearly ruined me a few years back.  Within half an hour I was in the toilet throwing up, and then leaning over the edge letting my face get sprayed with sea salt as I desperately tried to calm my stomach down.  Staying outside and staring at the ocean is defintely improving the situation, but by the time we roll into Koh Samui I have vowed never to set foot on the damn Catamaran ever again.

Sprung for the minibus transfer offered by the Catamaran as well, since the Gaeng Phet Guesthouse was pretty much on the other side of the island.  For reasons forgotten to me I’d chosen to stay in a single room rather than the dorms (probably assumed that I’d want private space after Bangkok and Koh Tao), but this had completely slipped my mind, so got it as a nice surprise instead.  Once I’d checked it, the sun was going down, but decided to wander along the road and see what was happening in the area.

I’m no more than 15 minutes from a busy main road (which I’m embarrassed to say I never learned the name of) which is near Chaweng Beach and full of tattoo parlours, bars, restuarants, market stalls and tourist shops.  Every now and then a van advertising a Muay Thai fight drives along as well, and I decide to walk towards the stadium – unfortunately get there a little later than planned, and decide to skip rather than go in half an hour late.  Instead console myself with sorbet and head back to my guesthouse.  Definitely part of town I want to spend more time in.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Diary, Thailand and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

