Welcome to the Log Pose

So…I started a proper blog this year.  Updated it almost constantly for a good six months and then pretty much disappeared off the face of the earth.  To be fair, come June I had an anime convention, cosplay to make for said convention, a mountain of eBay items to sell and a trip to plan.

The trip in question?  A trek across a good chunk of Asia while I made my way to Australia to work for a year.  Why?  Multiple reasons – the biggest one being that travelling around the world for months at a time is something I’ve always dreamed of doing.  I’ve had a travel bug for years, but its only in the last few years I’ve been able to do any.

So why now?  Firstly, I live in a very expensive city with a very non-expensive paycheck.  I managed it by having an unbelievably awesome deal on a flat share and 2 jobs.  However, I quit the second job last year due to exhaustion, and the flat got sold, leaving me very close to homeless and no longer making enough money to live the life I wanted.  Since my job wasn’t even in my field of study, I decided to seriously look for a job that was for 3 months, and if it fell through, it was time to throw in the towel and get out of the country.

And as it happens, I have family in Oz – so that was a no brainer.

The trip in question?  I start in Russia, arriving in Moscow before setting off on the Vodkatrain through Mongolia and China, then travelling South towards Vietnam.  Then its East towards Cambodia, Thailand, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur – before a flight to Perth and a year’s working holiday.

Since all I’ll be writing about for the next 3 months is travelling though, I decided to add another blog – one specifically about my trip.  Named after the compass in the anime ‘One Piece’, The Log Pose is my attempt to chronicle what I do (and let family and friends know I’m still breathing).  Also keeps me writing – which after 6 months of next to nothing, I sorely need practice at.

About Batale

I am an aspiring writer - though since I haven't written anything original in about 2 years, so calling me a writer is like calling a man who makes dinner every night a 5 star chef. I started this blog to force me to write. From the 1st January 2013, I intend to update this blog every day. If nothing interesting happens, I'll write about something that does interest me, whether that is a movie, a book, something I've heard about, or even some of my stories growing up.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

